If installed on the same machine, Tectia Client and Tectia Server should always be upgraded to be the same version, because there are dependencies between the common components.
Check if you have some Secure Shell software, such as earlier versions of Tectia products or third-party Secure Shell server or client, running on the machine where you are planning to install the new Tectia versions.
In the following cases you must uninstall the existing version of Tectia Client/Server before installing version 6.6.3:
Your existing version is 6.0 or earlier.
Your existing version of Tectia Client contains the transparent tunneling component.
In any other case you can upgrade to Tectia Client/Server 6.6.3 without first uninstalling the existing version. The existing version will be automatically removed from the host during the installation procedure.
When upgrading a previously installed version of Tectia Server, the access permissions for existing configuration files will be checked during the upgrade installation.
The access permissions for the
ssh-server-config.xml configuration file
should be as follows:
The owner of the file is a member of the Administrators group.
Only Administrators and SYSTEM may have full control of the file.
Users are not allowed to modify the file.
Other accounts do not have access to the file.
If the access permissions are not safe, you will see the Configuration File Permissions dialog box during the upgrade installation. Do one of the following:
Reset the permissions for the configuration file to the default safe state and continue with the installation. (Recommended)
Ignore the incorrect permissions and continue with the installation without fixing the permissions. Note that if you decide to do this, the server might not be able to start. You can fix the permissions manually later.
Cancel the installation.
Your previous installation of Tectia Server has already been removed, so if you cancel the installation, your machine will be left with no version of Tectia Server installed.